What To Expect After A DUI Arrest

Driving while under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol is never a good idea.

With the holidays coming up, particularly those festive New Year’s Eve celebrations, it is important to reiterate this point. Not only is it against the law, it can also be extremely dangerous for you and the people around you.

Once again, you should never operate a vehicle while under the influence.

However, sometimes we all make mistakes. That’s just human nature, after all. If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Denver, you might be wondering, “What’s next?”

Well, at the Law Office Of Jill M. Jackson, we’re here to help you figure that out. While a DUI arrest can seem like the end of everything, it doesn’t have to be. Not so long as you take a few careful steps toward redemption, and of course entrust the services of a leading DUI attorney in Denver.

So, if you made a mistake and were the subject of a DUI arrest, keep reading to learn what you should expect in the coming weeks.

Understand the Charge

In Colorado, there are essentially two levels of alcohol-related offenses. The first, and most commonly known, type of offense is Driving Under The Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (or, a DUI).

The second is known as Driving While Ability is Impaired, or DWAI.

Here are the key differences:

  • DUI: One thing to know about a DUI arrest is that the Colorado DMV has the right and authority to suspend your license regardless of whether or not there are any criminal charges that follow. The BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) limit for a DUI is 0.08 percent for drivers over the age of 21. For those under 21, the limit is 0.02 percent.
  • DWAI: While a DWAI is commonly referred to as a “lesser” charge because the penalties aren’t quite as severe, it can also be looked at on the flip side in that a DWAI charge is easier to obtain. That’s because the legal BAC for a DWAI charge is 0.05 percent.

Request A Hearing

After your first DUI arrest, if you either refused or failed a breathalyzer, you have seven days to request a hearing through your local DMV after receiving a notice of license revocation or suspension.

That’s why it’s so important to act quickly after being arrested for a DUI or DWAI. There is truly no time to waste, as forfeiting your right to a hearing could result in the immediate revocation of your license with no chance to fight or reduce the penalties.

Get DUI help from Jill M. Jackson today.

Charges & Penalties

In this blog, we’re going to focus purely on first time DUI offenders. After a DUI arrest, some of the legal consequences you could face include:

  • Class II misdemeanor on your record
  • Loss/suspension of your license
  • Ignition Interlock device on your vehicle for up to two years
  • Imprisonment (between five days and a year)
  • Probation
  • Court-ordered alcohol education classes
  • Community service

All of these depend on the circumstances regarding your arrest and the severity of the crime. In order to have your rights fully represented during this process, it’s imperative that you contact the Law Office of Jill M. Jackson immediately after your DUI arrest.

Get DUI help today from Denver’s Top Rated Local® Law Firm.